After WhatsApp had their time in the sun with the disappearing messages last week, Facebook has now announced a ‘Vanish Mode’ for its Messenger. In this mode, your messages will disappear as soon as you leave the chat.
After you leave the discussion, the Vanish Mode auto-erases your messages. Messages coming back to haunt you? Not anymore!
The Messenger’s secret conversation option, however, also gives you this opportunity to set a time limit for your messages to be auto-deleted. Vanish Mode gives you the ease of application. To enable the function, you will need to swipe up on any chat. To turn the function off, swipe up again!
You can expect to see this functionality soon coming to Instagram as well. The back-end of each of the social platforms — Messenger, Instagram and WhatsApp, are planned to be integrated over time, so the functions available ion each will subsequently be available in the rest as well.
More details on the Vanish Mode are as follows:
- Only people you’re connected to can use vanish mode with you in a chat
- It is an opt-in mode, so you choose whether to enter vanish mode with someone or not
- If someone takes a screenshot of your chat while you’re using vanish mode, you’ll be notified
- You can block someone and report a conversation if you feel unsafe
The function is similar to that available in Snapchat.
The platform expects better turnout to the feature, primarily because of the availability of a simple ‘swipe up’. The ease and quick switch between the normal and the Vanish Mode will make the function more usable and liked.
According to Facebook, the feature is rolled out slowly and has begun in the US and a handful of few other countries. It will be soon seen making a Global running.
Keep an eye on your updates till then!